Print Journalism Scholarships

Here are some of the Print Journalism scholarships on our site for which you may qualify.

NAHJ PepsiCo Scholarships

These Scholarships of up to $2,500 will be awarded to students pursuing careers in print, broadcast, online and visual journalism. College-bound high school seniors, college undergraduates and graduate students are eligible as long as they have a 2.0 average. These scholarships are made possible by PepsiCo, an effort to support young aspiring Latino journalists.

NAHJ General Scholarships Rubén Salazar Fund

Ranging from $1,000 - $2,000 per student, these scholarship are awarded to college-bound high school seniors, college undergraduates and graduate students pursuing careers in English or Spanish-language print, photo, broadcast or online journalism.

High School Minority Scholarship

The Ohio Newspapers Foundation will award a $1,500 scholarship to a minority high school senior in Ohio who plans to pursue a newspaper journalism career.Eligibility * Applicant must be a graduating senior at an Ohio high school. Awardee must be enrolled as college freshman at an Ohio college or university for the school year. * A minimum high school grade point average of 2.5 (C+) is required. The student’s high school transcripts must accompany the application. * Applicants must be African American, Hispanic, Asian American or American Indian. * Application form must be typed or printed legibly by the applicant. (The application form on the reverse side may be photocopied). * Students must demonstrate the ability to write clearly in an autobiography of 750 to 1,000 words describing academic and career interests, awards, extracurricular activities and any journalism-related activities. * Applications must be accompanied by two letters of recommendation from high school faculty members familiar with the student’s work and career interests. * Students may provide additional information such as samples or articles that have been published (limit to two, please).

Leonard M. Perryman Communications Scholarship for Ethnic Minority Students

A $2,500 scholarship for undergraduate study of religion journalism/mass communications. The scholarship is offered in recognition of the work of Leonard M. Perryman, a journalist for The United Methodist Church for nearly 30 years. The scholarship assists an undergraduate United Methodist student, who intends on pursuing a career in religion journalism, in their study at an accredited U.S. college or university. The Perryman Scholarship promotes excellence by helping students continue their studies in communication, including such media as audio/visual, electronic and print journalism. United Methodist students are encouraged to apply. One scholarship will be awarded to the best overall candidate.

Gerald Boyd/Robin Stone Non-Sustaining Scholarship

Competition for the $2,500 scholarship is open to any African American student who is currently attending an accredited four-year university. Students must be enrolled as an undergraduate or graduate student that: * Maintains a minimum GPA of 3.0 * Majors in print journalism

ISF-SBIA Scholarship

ISF supports Islamic organizations and mosques by planning and managing joint scholarships. ISF is honored to host the ISF-SBIA scholarship of the South Bay Islamic Association, SBIA. The ISF-SBIA Scholarship program is only open to members and individuals affiliated with this center. Description and Eligibility: ISF accepts online applications once a year starting in December for a period of three months. Each Eligible Applicant Must Be: Muslim and active member of the Muslim Community; Attending an accredited university in the U.S.; Majoring in an ISF supported field of study; Maintaining a minimum 3.0 Grade Point Average; A Citizen or Permanent Resident of the U.S.; An undergraduate (junior/senior) or of graduate standing.

The Russ Ewing Excellence in Journalism Awards and Scholarship

Scholarships are open to outstanding college and university students pursuing careers in journalism. This annual fundraiser includes a media awards competition and scholarship presentation. CABJ presents awards for outstanding coverage of African Americans and issues of special concern to the African American community.

Les Payne Founder's Scholarship

Number of Awards Available: 1 Amount of the Award: $2,500 Student Type: Undergraduate or Graduate Les Payne, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter, is also a NABJ founder and served as the organization’s president from 1981 – 1983. For more than three decades, Mr. Payne built an illustrious career at Newsday having served as an associate editor, local and national reporter, foreign correspondent, and columnist. He is well-known for not being afraid to speak out against racism and injustices in America and around the world. Specific Application Requirements: Must major in journalism with a concentration in print and career aspirations of being a print journalist G.P.A. requirement: 3.0 or higher Essay topic: "As a journalist, Les Payne is passionate about speaking out against injustices, what are three (3) issues you are passionate about and hope to cover as a professional journalist?" (1,000 - 2,000 words) General Application Requirements: Resume Cover Letter Official College Transcript Five (5) Work Samples Three (3) References

Morris Newspaper Corporation Scholarship

Established in 1987 by Charles Morris, Morris Newspaper Corporation, Savannah, this scholarship is awarded annually to an outstanding print journalism student. Applications are submitted through newspapers in the Morris Newspaper Corporation chain and recipients are named by the Foundation. All applicants must be a Georgia resident attending a Georgia college or university. The deadline to apply is March 1 of each year

Frank Romano Lifetime Achievement Scholarship

Students must attend Rochester Institute of Technology and be pursuing a degree in Print Media. • Minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA on a 4.0 scale • International students may apply

AAJA/Cox Foundation Scholarship

1. Must be pursuing a career in either print, broadcast or photojournalism. 2. Must have sensitivity to Asian American and Pacific Islander issues as demonstrated by community involvement. 3. Must have at least 12 units. Contact Information: Students interested in applying for this scholarship should view for more information and an application form.

Creating an account only takes minutes and puts all available Print Journalism Scholarships that match your profile in front of you immediately from our extensive database of scholarship awards.

Create an Account