Library Sciences Scholarships

Here are some of the Library Sciences scholarships on our site for which you may qualify.

Stephen Botein Fellowships

AAS Short-Term Fellowships provide support for one-to three months' residence in the Society 's library at stipends of $1,850 per month. Taken as a whole, AAS Short-Term Fellowships are open to individuals, including foreign nationals and persons at work on doctoral dissertations who are engaged in scholarly research and writing in any field of American history and culture through 1876. These fellowships are for research in the history of the book in American culture. Funding is derived from an endowment established by the family and friends of the late Mr. Botein. Doctoral candidates may apply. Criteria: Fellows are selected on the basis of the applicant's scholarly qualifications, the scholarly significance or importance of the project, and the appropriateness of the proposed study to the Society's collections.

The Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship

Provides financial assistance in the form of four $7,000 awards to students who intend to pursue an MLS or advanced degree and plan to work in the area of library service to children in any type of library. The scholarship is made possible through the generous contributions of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc.

TLA Summer School Scholarship

The TLA Summer School Scholarship of $500 is available for a graduate student who is pursuing a M.L.S. degree during summer sessions only at a Texas ALA-accredited library education program. The applicant must be a Texas resident who attained at least a B average during the last two years of a baccalaureate degree program.

American Association of Law Libraries Type III Scholarship

Criteria: 1. Must be pursuing a career as a law librarian. 2. Must be a degree candidate in an accredited library school. Contact Information: Students interested in applying for this scholarship should view for more information and an application form.

Plenum Scholarship

Applicants must be members of the Special Libraries Assocation and have worked in a special library. Preference shall be given to those who display an aptitude for and interest in special library work, who show promise of accomplishment, and who are judged capable of making specific contributions to the library profession. Applicants must be doctoral candidates who have dissertation topic approval and are enrolled in a course of study by the time the award is given.

LITA/Christian (Chris) Larew Memorial Scholarship in Library and Information Technology

The LITA/Christian (Chris) Larew Memorial Scholarship, begun in 1999, is awarded jointly on an annual basis currently in the amount of $3,000, by the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association, and Baker & Taylor. The scholarship is designed to encourage the entry of qualified persons into the library and information technology field, who plan to follow a career in that field, and who demonstrate academic excellence, leadership, and a vision in pursuit of library and information technology. This scholarship is for study in an ALA Accredited Master of Library Science (MLS) program.Candidates should illustrate their qualifications for this scholarship with a statement indicating the nature of their library experience, letters of reference, and a personal statement of the applicant's view of what he or she can bring to the profession, emphasizing experiences that indicate a potential for leadership and commitment to library technology. Candidates must not have earned more than 12 hours towards a Master of Library Science degree from an ALA Accredited MLS program. Economic need is considered when all other criteria are equal.The winner is announced and introduced, if present, at the LITA President's Program during the Annual Conference of the American Library Association.

Rose Emery Scholarship

for a woman returning to school (adult learner) pursuing a career in the EDUCATION field that has financial need, shows leadership ability through involvement in school and community activities, and attains high academic achievement. Permanent residence must be in Laconia, Gilford, Gilmanton, Belmont, Sanbornton, or Alton NH.

Library School Graduates Attending Law School

Awarded to a library school graduate working toward a degree in an accredited law school, who has meaningful law library experience and has no more than 36 semester (54 quarter) credit hours remaining before qualifying for the law degree. Preference given to members of AALL, but scholarships are not restricted to members. Evidence of financial need must be submitted.

American Association of Law Libraries Type I Scholarship

Criteria: 1. Must be pursuing a career as a law librarian. 2. Must be a law school graduate. Contact Information: Students interested in applying for this scholarship should view for more information and an application form.

Mildred P McKay Fund

To establish a permanent endowment fund, the income from which is to be applied for scholarship aid to NH residents in the study of library services.

Ada Leigh Soles Memorial Professional Librarian and Archivist Incentive Program

Eligibility requirements: Legal residents of Delaware U.S. citizens or eligible non-citizens Full- or part-time students in an ALA-accredited master's degree program of library or information science. Academic record, community service, and financial need are considered. Preference is given to current employees of a public library, county department library, public school library, or a state agency library or archive in Delaware. Award: Loan not to exceed cost of tuition, mandatory fees, and other direct educational expenses Renewable for three additional years Loan forgiveness provisions at a rate of two years of qualifying employment for one year of loan

Creating an account only takes minutes and puts all available Library Sciences Scholarships that match your profile in front of you immediately from our extensive database of scholarship awards.

Create an Account