News Media Scholarships

Here are some of the News Media scholarships on our site for which you may qualify.

The Ken Kashiwahara Scholarship

Ken Kashiwahara, retired ABC News bureau chief and correspondent, developed this $2,500 annual award in 1998 for aspiring minority journalists. His 23-year career with ABC includes coverage of the O.J. Simpson trial, Ronald Reagan.


Two awards given in honor of former RTNDA Presidents Theodore Koop, Bruce Dennis, James McCulla, John Salisbury, Bruce Palmer, Dick Cheverton, Jim Byron, Ben Chatfield and John Hogan. Only currently enrolled college sophomores, juniors and seniors in good standing are eligible to apply.

The George Foreman Tribute to Lyndon B. Johnson Scholarship

George Foreman, television commentator and former heavyweight champion, created this $6,000 annual scholarship to honor Lyndon B. Johnson. It was developed for a broadcast journalism student at the University of Texas-Austin.

The Abe Schechter Graduate Scholarship

Abe Schechter, a true pioneer of radio news, became the first VP of news for NBC. He began his career in newspapers, then moved to radio. During WWII, he became senior PR officer for General MacArthur. He eventually returned to NBC where he helped create the Today show. From there, he became part owner of the Mutual Broadcasting System. In the 1960s Schechter, along with RTNDF trustee George Glazer, founded a PR firm that was subsequently sold to Hill & Knowlton. Schechter and his wife died in a car accident in 1970, and this $2,000 scholarship was set up in his memory.

$2,500 N.S. Bienstock Fellowship

An award established in early 1999 by N.S. Bienstock, Inc. owners, Richard Leibner and Carole Cooper. N.S. Bienstock has been the leading agency for representation of electronic journalists and reality-based programming for more than 35 years and is a long-time member of RTNDA. This award recognizes a promising minority journalist in radio or television news management.

Michele Clark Fellowship

RTNDF's first fellowship is named for a CBS News correspondent who was killed in a plane crash while on assignment in 1972. Her family and colleagues at CBS sent money in lieu of flowers to create a fund in her name, endowing a permanent $1,000 award for young, promising minority professionals in television or radio news.

Vada and Col. Barney Oldfield National Security Reporting Fellowship

A $1,000 award, created by the RTNDF board of trustees in honor of the names it bears. Barney and Vada served in WWII and both had illustrious military careers.

Jacque Minnotte Health Reporting Fellowship

This $2,000 award was created to honor former news director and Medstar executive Jacque Minnotte, who died in 1993.

RTNDF Broadcast News Management Fellowships

The Radio and Television News Directors Foundation Broadcast News Management Fellowship sends journalist of color to leadership and management training programs for news professionals. The RTNDF fellowship program allows senior broadcast news and mid-career professionals of color to develop or strengthen their management skills. Candidates may self-nominate or be nominated by a supervisor. Each candidate must submit an application form and a letter of recommendation from his or her supervisor. Candidates also are urged to work with the supervisor to determine what skills and training they need to advance. Fellowship winners will attend workshops on such topics as developing management competence, leadership and communication skills.

Educator in the Newsroom Fellowships

The Educator in the Newsroom Fellowships are an initiative by the Radio and Television News Directors Foundation to enhance the quality of broadcast journalism education and to strengthen the caliber of the future broadcast news workforce. Funded by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, this project places college journalism educators at local television and radio newsrooms for four weeks during their summer break. Each fellow is given a concrete work assignment and actively participates in daily newsroom operations. Check website for more information.

Capitol Hill Internship

RTNDF offers 3-month internships sponsored by the Radio-Television Correspondents Association. These fully-paid internships are based in Washington, DC and are available for recent college graduates whose career objective is electronic journalism.

Calixto Manriquez Scholarship

Applied Sciences & Arts - Journalism & Mass Communications Intended for Update News

Creating an account only takes minutes and puts all available News Media Scholarships that match your profile in front of you immediately from our extensive database of scholarship awards.

Create an Account