News Media Scholarships


Capitol Hill News Internships

Interns will be responsible for following newsworthy congressional activities and helping to coordinate broadcast coverage of these activities. Excellent writing skills are essential. Interns will get valuable hands-on experience in the House and Senate Radio-TV Galleries, working side by side with the Washington press and congressional staff to cover the political process. These internships are an excellent opportunity for students to make future contacts and learn the ropes of political coverage and news management. Each internship is a full-time position for three months with a salary of $1000 per month. Travel, housing and other living expenses are the responsibility of the intern.

Helen J. Sioussat

Study any area of broadcasting. Scholarships will be awarded for full-time degree work at the JUNIOR, SENIOR OR GRADUATE level. Scholarships must be used exclusively for tuition, student fees, university book store course purchases, and university dormitory room and board. Current scholarship holders are not eligible for reappointment in the year following their award. All scholarships must be applied to study at a campus where at least one department is a BEA institutional member. The applicant should be able to show substantial evidence of superior academic performance and potential to be an outstanding electronic media professional. There should be compelling evidence that the applicant possesses high integrity and a well-articulated sense of personal and professional responsibility.

National AAJA Internship Grant

This $1,000 grant is given to a student working as an intern at a news organization. Students are generally selected based on the following criteria: - commitment to the field of journalism - sensitivity to Asian American issues as demonstrated by community involvement - journalistic ability - scholastic ability - financial need

Kirk Sutlive Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded annually to a junior or senior majoring in either the news-editorial or public relations sequence at the Henry W. Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia. Established in 1986, the recipient is selected from three nominations submitted by the University of Georgia.

William C. Rogers Scholarship

Established in 1981, this scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior majoring in the news-editorial sequence at the Henry W. Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia. The recipient is selected from nominations made by the University of Georgia.

Michael Erekson Memorial Scholarship Fund

Provide scholarships for students from Danvers, including graduating seniors and returning adult students, with a preference for those studying technical trades and media.

Stoody-West Fellowship

A $6,000 Stoody-West Fellowships in religious journalism offered in recognition of the work and lives of Dr. Ralph Stoody and Dr. Arthur West, leaders in public relations and information services in The United Methodist Church. The grant will assist one United Methodist student in their post-graduate study at an accredited U.S. college or university who intends on pursuing a career in religious journalism. The purpose of the fellowship is to enhance the recipient's professional competence and thereby help to perpetuate the standards exemplified by Ralph Stoody and Arthur West. Religious journalism is interpreted to include news writing for secular press, church press and for church institutions. The committee will consider appropriate news and journalism forms, including electronic and broadcast media, as well as print.

Radio TV News Director Association Foundation Scholarships

***Application asks for Social Security number*** Requirements: *Must officially be a sophomore enrolled in college and have at least one more academic year remaining to graduate. *There are many scholarships by may apply to one scholarship only. *May be enrolled in any major so long as your career intent is in television or radio news.

RTNDA/Unity Awards

The Radio-Television News Directors Association honors outstanding achievements in the coverage of diversity with the RTNDA/UNITY Award. The award is part of the covenant RTNDA has adopted with UNITY: Journalists of Color, to achieve diversity in the newsroom through developing news content and editorial staffs that reflect the changing face of communities. The purpose of the award is to encourage and showcase journalistic excellence in covering issues of race and ethnicity. It is presented annually to news organizations that show an ongoing commitment to covering the diversity of the communities they serve. ELIGIBILITY Entries may be submitted by stations, networks, syndication services or program services. Entries without appropriate station, network or company authorization will not be accepted. You do not have to be a member of RTNDA to enter the competition or win an award. Check website for more information. Award for outstanding achievements in the coverage of diversity.

Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award

RTNDF presents this award annually to a radio or television journalist or news executive who has made a major contribution to the protection of First Amendment freedoms. It is named for the late Broadcasting & Cable senior correspondent, Leonard Zeidenberg. An award to a radio or television journalist or news executive

First Amendment Service Award

This award honors professionals in local or network news who work in an off-air, management, largely behind-the-scenes capacity.

The Ken Kashiwahara Scholarship

Ken Kashiwahara, retired ABC News bureau chief and correspondent, developed this $2,500 annual award in 1998 for aspiring minority journalists. His 23-year career with ABC includes coverage of the O.J. Simpson trial, Ronald Reagan.

Creating an account only takes minutes and puts all available News Media Scholarships that match your profile in front of you immediately from our extensive database of scholarship awards.

Create an Account