Communications Scholarships

Here are some of the Communications scholarships on our site for which you may qualify.

Communication Studies- Academic Opportunity Award

Communication Studies scholarships are awarded to students in the following areas of study: Journalism, Communication, Theatre and Public Relations. These awards are for incoming freshmen only.

David A. and Linda M. Lefurgey Scholarship

The recipient must be majoring in Communication Studies with a General Communication emphasis for at least two semesters. Preference given to those participating in the Leadership Studies program. Recipients must have a 2.5 cumulative GPA, with a 3.0 in the major. Transfer students studying in a comparable area are eligible, under the preceding criteria, in their first semester.

James Costigan Memorial Scholarship

First preference will be given to non traditional students majoring in Communication Studies.

Pauline Huxman and Duane Murphy Endowed Scholarship

Applicants must be upper division or graduate certification returning students who live west of Highway 81. First preference will be given to students majoring in Special Education, Communication Disorders or Education with a minimum 3.0 GPA. Preference also will be given to students who indicate that they are going into the teaching profession within the state of Kansas.

Trish Davies Theatre Fund

Scholarships to be awarded by the FHSU Communication Studies Department chair.

Edward Payson and Bernice Piilani Irwin Scholarship

Description:This scholarship is named in honor of Bernice Pi‘ilani Irwin who was a friend of Queen Lili‘u‘okalani. Bernice was the author of a collection of Hawaiian tales called "In Menehune Land." She also wrote a popular column for the Honolulu Advertiser and later for the Honolulu Times, which was edited by her husband Edwin Irwin. Her column was entitled "Kahuna Nui, the Old Sage of Kaka‘ako," and was a discourse on politics and civic affairs, written in pidgin. The Irwins set up this trust fund to students who, like Bernice, wish to have careers in journalism. Requirements: Major in Journalism or Communications. Be a college junior, senior or graduate student.

PRSA-Hawai‘i/Roy Leffingwell Public Relations Scholarship

Requirements: Major in Public Relations, Journalism or Communications and intend to pursue a career in public relations. Be a college junior, senior or graduate student.

Wilson W. Carnes Scholarship

ELIGIBILITY: Pursuing a four-year degree in agricultural communications.AWARD: Approximately one scholarship at $300. Not guaranteed.

Casey’s General Stores Inc. Scholarship

ELIGIBILITY: Pursuing a two- or four-year degree in agricultural business/farm/food service/landscape/nursery/ranch or wildlife management, communications, economics, finance, sales, marketing, engineering, mechanization, power & equipment, conservation, plant or soil science, entomology, agricultural computer systems, agricultural public service or general agriculture with a career path in agriculture or agribusiness. Resident of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, South Dakota or Wisconsin required. Must exhibit strong leadership skills.AWARD: Three scholarships at $1,000 each, non-renewable.

Farmers Mutual Hail Insurance Company of Iowa Scholarship

ELIGIBILITY: Pursuing a two- or four-year degree in agronomy, crop science, agricultural communications, education, journalism, extension, public relations, business management, economics, finance, sales, marketing, plant pathology/breeding/genetics, soil science or soil/water conservation. One scholarship will be awarded to resident of Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Wisconsin. Two scholarships each will be awarded to residents of Iowa and Nebraska. Minimum 2.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale required.AWARD: 17 scholarships at $1,500 each, non-renewable

The Ed Johnson Memorial Scholarship Sponsored by Ohio FFA Foundation

ELIGIBILITY: Pursuing a four-year degree in agriculture, communication, education, business management, economics, international agriculture, finance, sales and marketing and science, engineering and related specialists except biochemistry, biological science, biotechnology and marine biology. Attendance at The Ohio State University and Ohio residency required. Must exhibit strong leadership skills, have participated in community service, have work experience in the field of agriculture and produce a statement of educational and career goals.AWARD: One scholarship at $1,000, non-renewable.

National Mastitis Council Scholarship

ELIGIBILITY: Pursuing a two- or four-year degree in animal or dairy science, agricultural communications, education, sales and marketing or pre-vet/vet sciences. Applicant must have a dairy background or plan to pursue a career related to dairy and have participated in community service. Scholarship is available for both FFA and non-FFA members.AWARD: One scholarship at $1,000, non-renewable.

Creating an account only takes minutes and puts all available Communications Scholarships that match your profile in front of you immediately from our extensive database of scholarship awards.

Create an Account