Broadcasting Scholarships

Here are some of the Broadcasting scholarships on our site for which you may qualify.

Native American Journalists Association Schps

Two to four $2,500 scholarships will be awarded to Native American college students pursing careers in broadcast journalism.

Helen Johnson Scholarship

The Helen Johnson Scholarship is for broadcast journalism students. 1. You must provide proof that you are enrolled or have been accepted as a journalism major at a four-year college. (If your college does not have a journalism program, you must supply a letter from a member in good standing of the Society of Professional Journalists in your geographic area, verifying that you intend to pursue a career as a professional journalist and that you show strong potential as a journalist.) Students in fields such as advertising, public relations, publicity or law are not eligible. Students completing pre-journalism programs must provide proof that they have been admitted to a journalism program. 2. You must have completed at least your sophomore year in college, and you must have at least one semester to complete in a journalism program after the awards of the scholarship. Graduate students in journalism programs are eligible. 3. You must be a resident of Los Angeles, Ventura or Orange counties or be enrolled at a university in one of those three California counties. 4. If you have received a chapter scholarship and continue to meet the eligibility requirements, you may apply to have the scholarship renewed. Renewal requests are considered along with all other scholarships applications and are given no preference. 5. You may apply for more than one scholarship, but no more than one scholarship will be awarded to any applicant. The application form allows you to check off all scholarships for which you are applying on a single page. Do not file separate application forms for each scholarship. Multiple applications will be discarded. 6. Awards are made primarily on the basis of accomplishments and potential. Financial need will be considered in making selections between otherwise equally qualified applicants.

Barbara L. Frye Scholarship

Graduating high school seniors and college students planning to pursue a career in journalism can apply for a $2,000 award each year. An applicant must be attending or expecting to attend a Florida college or university, or be a graduate or prospective graduate of a Florida high school who is attending or expecting to attend college inside or outside of Florida. You must be a graduating high school senior or college freshman, sophomore or junior at the time of application. Award is granted on the basis of merit, dedication to a journalism career and demonstrated aptitude for print or broadcast journalism. An applicant's racial minority or financial need may be considered by the selection committee, but these are not prerequisites for a scholarship.


This scholarship is offered to minority students whose career intent is in the field of broadcasting/journalism. Emmy

Minoru Yasui Memorial Scholarship

$2,000 to a promising Asian American male broadcaster. A civil rights advocate and attorney, Minoru Yasui was one of three Nisei who challenged the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II.

Stoody-West Fellowship

A $6,000 Stoody-West Fellowships in religious journalism offered in recognition of the work and lives of Dr. Ralph Stoody and Dr. Arthur West, leaders in public relations and information services in The United Methodist Church. The grant will assist one United Methodist student in their post-graduate study at an accredited U.S. college or university who intends on pursuing a career in religious journalism. The purpose of the fellowship is to enhance the recipient's professional competence and thereby help to perpetuate the standards exemplified by Ralph Stoody and Arthur West. Religious journalism is interpreted to include news writing for secular press, church press and for church institutions. The committee will consider appropriate news and journalism forms, including electronic and broadcast media, as well as print.

First Amendment Leadership Award

RTNDF presents this award annually to a business or government leader who has made a significant contribution to the protection of the First Amendment and freedom of the press. Award to a business or government leader.

Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award

RTNDF presents this award annually to a radio or television journalist or news executive who has made a major contribution to the protection of First Amendment freedoms. It is named for the late Broadcasting & Cable senior correspondent, Leonard Zeidenberg. An award to a radio or television journalist or news executive

The Ed Bradley Scholarship

Ed Bradley, 60 Minutes correspondent at CBS News, was once a teacher and made a switch to journalism. Bradley spoke of introducing deserving minority students to the communications career field and endowed this $10,000 annual award under the banner of RTNDF.

The Ken Kashiwahara Scholarship

Ken Kashiwahara, retired ABC News bureau chief and correspondent, developed this $2,500 annual award in 1998 for aspiring minority journalists. His 23-year career with ABC includes coverage of the O.J. Simpson trial, Ronald Reagan.


Two awards given in honor of former RTNDA Presidents Theodore Koop, Bruce Dennis, James McCulla, John Salisbury, Bruce Palmer, Dick Cheverton, Jim Byron, Ben Chatfield and John Hogan. Only currently enrolled college sophomores, juniors and seniors in good standing are eligible to apply.

The George Foreman Tribute to Lyndon B. Johnson Scholarship

George Foreman, television commentator and former heavyweight champion, created this $6,000 annual scholarship to honor Lyndon B. Johnson. It was developed for a broadcast journalism student at the University of Texas-Austin.

Creating an account only takes minutes and puts all available Broadcasting Scholarships that match your profile in front of you immediately from our extensive database of scholarship awards.

Create an Account