Scholarships of county 'Dare' within North Carolina

"Here are the first 20 scholarships where one of the requirements is based on where you live."

Some states or counties have hundreds of scholarships for which you may qualify.
If you see less then 20 examples for your state, check back and visit this page in the future. We are adding new scholarships every week.

The Charles H. and Dorothy S. Luedemann Art Scholarship Fund

In 1996, The Charles H. and Dorothy S. Luedemann Art Scholarship Fund was established by a bequest of Mrs. Luedemann to encourage talented Dare County students to pursue education in the field of the arts such as fine arts, visual arts, literary or performing arts. This scholarship is renewable.

Dare Community Crime Line Scholarship Fund

The Dare Community Crime Line established its scholarship fund in 1997 to encourage Dare County residents to complete two-year or four-year degree programs in law, criminal justice or a related field. Scholarships are available to college students after they have completed at least one year of college. Some scholarships are also provided to help law enforcement personnel attend continuing education courses.

Dare County Outer Banks Jaycees Scholarship Fund

The Dare County Outer Banks Jaycees Scholarship Fund was established in 1997 to provide scholarships to Dare County students with good academic standing, financial need, high quality of personal character and commitment to community service. One goal of the organization is to train community leaders of tomorrow, and by providing scholarships the Jaycees help young people to move in this direction.

Dare Math/Science Scholarship Fund

An anonymous donor established the Dare Math/Science Scholarship Fund with a generous contribution in 1991. The scholarship recipient must plan to enter a science or math-related field of study, or a directly related area such as engineering and live in Dare County. The $1000 award is made every four years, with the recipient able to renew the award each year he or she is in college if academic criteria are met.

Duck Woods Ladies Tennis Association Scholarship Fund

The Duck Woods Ladies Tennis Association Scholarship Fund awards one or more scholarships each year to Dare or Currituck County students who have good academic standing, are involved in school and community activities and participate as active members of the school tennis team during the senior year.

Elmer and Betty Jo Sawyer Scholarship Fund

This fund was established in 2007 to provide scholarships to Dare County residents to attend a school of nursing.

F.C. Minton Scholarship Fund

The Manteo Rotary Club established the F.C. Minton Scholarship Fund in 2007 to honor the long time employee and significant contributor to the Dare County Parks and Recreation Department Foye "F.C." Minton, Sr.Scholarships will be awarded to help needy children participate in activities sponsored by the Dare County Parks & Recreation Department.

Living Legend Fund

The Living Legend Fund was established in 2007 by East Carolina Bank at the Land of Beginnings Festival. This festival honored the first Living Legend, David Stick, Founder of the Outer Banks Community Foundation. The scholarship is awarded to a College of The Albemarle student who is a resident of Dare County, and is pursuing a cultural heritage field of study.

Milton A. Jewell Scholarship Fund (Trade or Technical)

The Milton A. Jewell Trade Scholarship Fund was established by the Outer Banks Community Foundation in 2003 with a bequest from Ruth Medgyes, a former Southern Shores resident, who wanted to honor her grandfather and help local students attend college. In 2009, the Outer Banks Community Foundation designated up to $10,000 for scholarships for students at the College of The Albemarle taking trade or technical courses that could lead to a job or career that reside in Dare County or Ocracoke.