Utility Industry Scholarships

Here are some of the Utility Industry scholarships on our site for which you may qualify.

Abel Wolman Fellowship Award

Supports promising doctoral students in the U.S., Canada and Mexico pursuing advanced training and research in the field of water supply and treatment.

NAWC-New Jersey Chapter Scholarship Program

The New Jersey Chapter of the National Association of Water Companies Association is offering two $2,500 scholarships to high school students who will be attending a New Jersey college or university and is interested in the water utility industry or any related field. Eligibility Requirements: (a) Be a United States citizen, (b) Be a resident of New Jersey and have lived in the state for at least five years, (c) Be a high school senior or college student intending to pursue a degree at a New Jersey college or university (two- or four-year) as an undergraduate or graduate student (part-or full-time), and (d) Be maintaining at least 3.0 on a 4.0 grading scale. Send applications and related documents to: Gail Brady 49 Howell Drive Verona, NJ 07044 TEL: (973) 669-5807 E-MAIL

American Water Scholarship

Provides graduate level support to assist the development of professionals interested in service to the water industry. Specific Eligibility/Support: Pursuing graduate degree (masters or doctoral) Awarded annually, will provide one-time funding of $5,000

Holly A. Cornell Scholarship

Purpose: The Holly A. Cornell Scholarship created in 1990 by CH2M Hill, Inc. honors the name of Holly A. Cornell, co-founder of CH2M Hill, and to encourage and support outstanding female and/or minority students pursuing advanced training in the field of water supply and treatment. Students who been accepted into graduate school but have not yet begun graduate study are encouraged to apply. Specific Eligibility/Support: • Female and/or minority student (see application form for specifics) pursing master’s degree • Awarded annually, will provide one-time funding of $7,500. • CH2M Hill, Inc. will provide travel assistance to the AWWA conference where the award is presented

Larson Aquatic Research Support (LARS) Scholarship

Provides support for doctoral and masters students interested in careers in the fields of corrosion control, treatment and distribution of domestic and industrial water supplies, aquatic chemistry, and/or environmental chemistry. Specific Eligibility/Support: Awarded annually, will provide one-time funding for two scholarships: $5,000 for a master's student $7,000 for a doctoral student Additional judges will be provided by the Aquatic Chemistry Section of the Illinois State Water Survey

Tesoro Corporation Scholarship

 Minimum GPA 2.0  Be a public high school graduate (including charter schools)  Interest in starting a career in a trade industry including electricians, welders, machinists, pipeline inspectors to support the process technology industry in Hawai`i  Attend a two-year or less licensed and certified vocational or technical educational program in Hawai`i  Submit a one-page essay documenting how the Hawaiian culture has prepared the applicant for the workforce Applications are open to the general public. However, it is the policy of the Pauahi Foundation to give preference to applicants of Hawaiian ancestry to the extent permitted by law.

MAPCCS Scholarships

Since 1983, MAPCCS members have granted in excess of $3,000,000 in scholarship assistance to high school seniors interested in attending private colleges and career schools. Scholarship recipients are selected based upon their scholastic achievements, community involvement, extra curricular participation and recommendations from teachers, counselors or administrators. Applications are available through high school guidance offices, the MAPCCS office or the admissions/financial aid office of each participating member institution. Check the website for list of participating schools.

NAPHCC Educational Foundation Scholarship-Plumbing

Description:Scholarships are awarded through the National Association of Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors (NAPHCC) Educational Foundation. Eligibility:For incoming freshmen who are sponsored by an NAPHCC member. Must be entering a 4-year program in plumbing. Must maintain a minimum 2.00 GPA. Renewable for 4 years of study.

PG&E NuEnergy 2015 Scholarship

The NuEnergy scholarship program targets top-performing college students who have an interest and desire to pursue a career in the energy sector. Awards For the 2015 NuEnergy scholarship program, an approximate total of $15,000 will be awarded among 3-5 recipients. Eligibility 1. Students interested in applying must have a primary address that is within the PG&E service territory. 2. To be eligible, applicant must be a currently enrolled college student and returning for the academic year 2015-2016. Graduating high school seniors are not eligible. 3. All majors are eligible, but we highly encourage STEM, environmental and business or energy related majors. Essays Write essays on the following topic in a minimum of two pages, double-spaced, and 12-point font: 1. What are your professional goals after completing your degree? What impacts might your studies have on the energy industry? Select one additional topic from the choices below with a maximum of 2 pages, double-spaced and 12-point font: 1. Describe the future of energy in the United States, taking into consideration current trends, such as increasing generation from renewable resources, distributed generation, and smart grid technologies. 2. A friend tells you that in thirty years, we will all be driving automobiles powered by solar energy. Do you agree? Why or why not? 3. What role, if any, should the government, businesses, and society play in energy markets? Additional Documents In addition to your application, essays, please be sure to submit: - A current unofficial school transcript in PDF format. If chosen, be prepared to show an official transcript. - A one-page single-sided résumé - 2 letters of recommendation - Proof of residency in the PG&E territory. Please submit a copy of your PG&E bill, driver’s license, or phone bill. Application Submission Please apply online here: by February 9th, 2015 Contact Information For more information or if you have questions, please contact: Ani Saldana Anna Thoma

Academic Achievement Award

Eligible for the competition are all master's theses and doctoral dissertations that are relevant to the water supply industry. The manuscript must reflect the work of a single author and be submitted during the competition year in which it was submitted for the degree. The competition is open to students majoring in any subject provided the work is directly related to the drinking water supply industry. Entries are judged on the basis of originality, practical application, value to the water supply industry, potential value as a reference, and overall clarity of the presentation.

RMEL Foundation Scholarship

The purpose of the RMEL Foundation is to award scholarships to deserving and qualified students in engineering, business, information systems, plant, line or distribution technology, line worker or other curriculum related to the electric energy industry.

Creating an account only takes minutes and puts all available Utility Industry Scholarships that match your profile in front of you immediately from our extensive database of scholarship awards.

Create an Account