Scholarships of county 'Hancock' within Maine

"Here are the first 20 scholarships where one of the requirements is based on where you live."

Some states or counties have hundreds of scholarships for which you may qualify.
If you see less then 20 examples for your state, check back and visit this page in the future. We are adding new scholarships every week.

Cushman Scholarship

The Cushman Scholarship Fund provides scholarship assistance to Hancock County residents pursuing education in the medical or Christian education fields.

Ellsworth Center Scholarship

Since its establishment in 1989, the Ellsworth Center has provided access to UM system courses and degree programs for Hancock County residents. The purpose of the fund is to provide scholarship assistance to non-traditional and adult students registered through the Ellsworth Center.

John W. Carter Scholarship Fund

Scholarships only for students who are residents of Mount Desert, ME. Application form required. Application address: c/o Superintendent, School Comm. Town of Mount Desert, ME 04660

Maryann Snow Bates Scholarship

The Maryann Snow Bates Scholarship Fund provides scholarship support to residents of Brooksville, Maine, pursuing post-secondary education.Contact: MSBE Foundation, P.O. Box 277, Brooksville, ME 04617

Isabel Grindel Condon Scholarship

The Isabel Grindel Condon Scholarship Fund was established in 2001 to provide support to residents of Brooksville, Maine, to pursue post-secondary education. Preference will be given to students preparing for careers in education, including adults returning to school to earn teaching degrees.Contact: MSBE Foundation, P.O. Box 277, Brooksville, ME 04617

Faye Austin Cosentino Scholarship

Faye Austin Cosentino was a Brooksville native who pursued a career as a thoughtful and innovative nurse. She developed protocols for new mothers to avoid pulmonary embolisms and initiated a review of IV procedures with the Centers for Disease Control that resulted in new standards. Faye and her fellow committee members traveled throughout the United States and to China in the 1980s to present their findings. She was the author of many technical papers and books in her area of specialty, and she was the first nurse to have a paper published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Faye returned to Brooksville in 1990 to retire and subsequently researched and published nine books of historical interest to the town.This scholarship in her memory supports residents of Brooksville who are pursuing post-secondary education who share a similar passion for innovation. Preference is given to students enrolled in a degree program preparing for a career in nursing or studies in history.Contact: MSBE Foundation, P.O. Box 277, Brooksville, ME 04617

Phyllis Ames Cox Scholarship

The Phyllis Ames Cox Scholarship Fund was established in 2008 to support residents of Brooksville pursuing post-secondary education with a preference for students preparing for careers in veterinary medicine or in international relations.Contact: MSBE Foundation, P.O. Box 277, Brooksville, ME 04617

Friends of the Ellsworth Center Scholarship

The purpose of the fund is to provide scholarship assistance to adult learners registered through the Hancock County Higher Education Center.Contact: The student services coordinator at the Hancock County Higher Education Center, Ellsworth

Lee Patterson Scholarship for Classical Voice Training

Lee Patterson established this scholarship in 2001 for classical voice training (opera, operettas, and art song literature composed between 1600 and 1920). Recipients will agree to sing with the Gilbert and Sullivan Society of Maine during the term of their scholarship. Minimum age to apply is 14. Preference will be given to residents of Hancock and Washington Counties.Contact: Lee Patterson, Box 200, Mount Desert, ME 04660

The Nell Goff Memorial Scholarship

PURPOSE: To encourage and financially aid students who are interested in a future major or majoring in horticulture, floriculture, landscape design, conservation, forestry, botany, agronomy, plant pathology, environmental control, city planning, and/or other gardening related fields. QUALIFICATIONS: The student must be a legal resident of the State of Maine. Priority is given to a resident of the St. Croix District (Hancock County and the southern part of Washington County). Must major in some field of horticulture (see PURPOSE above for definition). College sophomores are eligible, as they will be entering their junior year the following fall. Graduate students must be enrolled for the fall semester following the award. If awaiting acceptance to grad school, notify the chairman of acceptance by April 25 to be considered, with all other materials in by the March 1 deadline. The Scholarship Chairman must receive application form, personal letter by applicant, letters of reference, grade transcripts, list of activities no later than MARCH FIRST. The winner will be notified no later than May first and will be invited to attend the annual spring meeting of the St. Croix District of the GCFM to receive the award. The student may reapply another year but must send in updated application.