RTDNA Presidents Scholarship

Scholarship Description

Two awards are given each year in honor of former RTDNA Presidents Theodore Koop, Bruce Dennis, James McCulla, John Salisbury, Bruce Palmer, Dick Cheverton, Jim Byron, Ben Chatfield and John Hogan.

The recipients of the Presidents Scholarship will each receive $1,000 and an invitation to the Excellence in Journalism conference.

Students who will be sophomores, juniors or seniors at the time the scholarship is awarded, pursuing careers in radio, television, or digital journalism
Winners must be officially enrolled, full-time sophomores or above in good standing when scholarships are awarded
Students may apply for only one RTDNF scholarship, and past RTDNF scholarship winners are not eligible.
Complete the online application form, including:
Contact information
URL links to 3-5 work samples
Work samples should be broadcast (television/radio) or online news pieces
Work samples should be uploaded to a host site like YouTube, Vimeo, SoundCloud, etc.
Upload the supplemental materials:
Cover letter
Discuss your current and past journalism experience
Describe how you intend to use the funds
Discuss your choice to pursue a career in journalism
Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee
Letter of recommendation
From a professor, advisor, or supervisor
Addressed to RTDNF Scholarship Committee

Year of Need: College Sophomore, College Junior, College Senior,

Type: Merit Based

Num Awards: 2

Min Award:

Max Award: 1,000

Deadline: 2022-05-31


Sponsoring Organization Radio Television Digital News Association
The National Press Building 529 14th Street, NW, Suite 1240
Washington, DC 20045

Contact Person: Karen Hansen Membership and Programs Manager

Phone: 202-662-7257

Fax: 202-223-4007