ASHRAE David C. J. Peters Scholarship

Scholarship Description

A one-year $5,000 scholarship available annually to a qualified undergraduate mechanical engineering student enrolled full-time in a four or five year bachelor degree program at one of the institutions listed below.  The scholarship was created by Southland Industries in honor of David Peters, a tireless advocate of recruiting quality and ASHRAE member.
California State University (CSU) at
San Diego
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
Cal Maritime
Long Beach
Pennsylvania State University
North Carolina State University
Virginia Tech
Clemson University
University of Nebraska at
University of Nevada at
Las Vegas
Oklahoma State University
University of Texas at Austin

Applicants must have a cumulative Grade Point Average (GPA) of at least 3.0 on a scale where 4.0 is the highest and/or a class standing of no less than the top 30% and submit the following on or before the application deadline:
Official transcript of college grades (College freshmen whose grades are not available by the application deadline must submit an official transcript of high school grades and verification of enrollment in a post-secondary educational institution).  Transcript must be mailed.  Photocopies will not be accepted.
Three signed letters of recommendation as follows: one from an instructor or faculty advisor, one from a current or past employer, and one from another character reference (other than a family member).  In the case of institutions with an ASHRAE student branch, a letter from the faculty advisor of that branch may be one of the three letters of recommendation.

Year of Need: College Freshman, College Sophomore, College Junior, College Senior, College 5th Year,


Num Awards: 1

Min Award: Varies

Max Award: Varies

Deadline: 2020-12-31


Sponsoring Organization ASHRAE, Inc.
1791 Tullie Circle, NE
Atlanta, GA 30329

Contact Person: Lois Benedict Scholarship Administrator

Phone: 404-636-8400

Fax: 404-321-5478