Service Academy Commissioning Awards

Scholarship Description

One of the highest honors AFCEA bestows, this award is presented annually at the five service academies: the U.S. Air Force, Military, Naval, Coast Guard, and Merchant Marine Academy. The program was established in the late 1940s to recognize the top graduate from the Department of Electrical Engineering at each academy. The current award is a Chelsea quartz ship’s clock, personally engraved with the recipient’s name. Each recipient is selected by his or her academy. The U.S. Naval Academy Award was first given in 1949. It was named The Captain Boyd R. Alexander, USN Honor Award in 1980. Named the Brigadier General Boyd Wheeler Bartlett, USA Honor Award in 1981 at the U.S. Military Academy, the AFCEA award for excellence in electrical engineering has been a tradition at West Point since 1952 when the award was a Hallicrafters radio, model SX-42, a single-conversion general-coverage receiver for AM, FM and continuous wave. Established in 1959, the U.S. Coast Guard Academy recipient receives the Commodore Edward M. Webster, USCG Honor Award each year. Presented to the top deck or dual license midshipman for outstanding achievement and academic excellence in marine electronics, the Astronaut Elliot M. See, Jr., Memorial Award was established in 1978 at the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. Astronaut See was a member of the Class of 1949. The Commissioning Award at the Air Force Academy was named the Lt Gen Gordon T. Gould, Jr., USAF Honor Award in 1983. General Gould, an electronics engineer, graduated from the U.S. Military Academy in 1941 and was instrumental in enhancing the communications career field-giving it the recognition it deserved.

Year of Need: College Freshman, College Sophomore, College Junior, College Senior,


Num Awards: Multiple

Min Award: Varies

Max Award: Varies

Deadline: 2019-12-31


Sponsoring Organization AFCEA Educational Foundation
4400 Fair Lakes Court
Fairfax, VA 22033-3899

Contact Person: