Scholarship - Golf

The Walter J. Travis Memorial Scholarship

The Walter J. Travis Memorial Scholarship is an annual award given since 2009 to honor the remarkable accomplishments and contributions of Walter J. Travis in the game of golf. In his pioneering career, Travis was a champion amateur golfer, esteemed golf course architect, innovative turf grass expert, and prolific golf journalist. He was founder and editor of one of the most influential golf magazines of his time, The American Golfer. We encourage applicants to explore this site to learn more about the man in whose honor this scholarship has been established.

The Travis Memorial Scholarships are awarded to students pursuing a career in one of the following professions: landscape design/golf course architecture; golf course turf grass management/golf course superintendent; professional golf management, club professional, or sports journalism with a special interest in golf.

In addition, in our wish to promote amateur golf, we will give careful consideration to outstanding amateur college/university golfers for our scholarship awards, based on their competitive record as an amateur golfer, and criteria listed below (with exception of career goals).  Amateur golfer applicants are not restricted to any particular college program or career goal.

2013 applicants for The Walter J. Travis Memorial Scholarship must present evidence of being enrolled/matriculated, in the Fall of 2013, as a full-time undergraduate or graduate student at an accredited two- or four-year college/university, in a program of study that will prepare the student for a career in one of the above-mentioned professions.

The following criteria will be used in the evaluation and judging of all applicants:

  • Academic record
  • Involvement in golf-related interests and activities
  • Career goals (Not applicable for students who are applying in the category of “amateur golfer”)
  • Extracurricular activities, including volunteer work with student/community organizations; participation in sports and community affairs; jobs held; special interests, and hobbies

Scholarship applications are independently reviewed by a panel of five.  The panelists rate each applicant on the above criteria using an evaluation rating system designed to objectify the evaluations as much as possible.  The panelists submit their top 6 applicants to the scholarship chairman who identifies the four winners, based on their overall ranking.

Award: $700

Number of Awards: up to FOUR

Awards renewal: Awards are renewable subject to re-application, including a letter of recommendation from at least one of the student’s professors, and evidence of maintaining a 3.00 GPA, or higher. Past winners will be reviewed by the Scholarship Screening Panel using the same criteria applied to all other applicants.

Awards use: This scholarship may be used for any legitimate educational expense.

Application procedures: Candidates must complete the following form:
2013 Scholarship Application.  Save application to desktop, fill out and return via mail or email:

Deadline:  June 1, 2013