Rowman & Littlefield Award

Scholarship Description

Rowman & Littlefield Publishers proudly announces the tenth year of the Rowman & Littlefield Award for Innovative Teaching in Political Science. The award, which carries a $500 cash stipend, will be presented at the Honors Reception at the American Political Science Association Annual Meeting in Philadelphia. The Innovative Teaching Award recognizes political scientists who have developed effective new approaches to teaching in the discipline. The award seeks to honor a wide range of new directions in teaching, not a particular new direction. Thus, in one year a professor might be chosen because of an innovative course syllabus; in another year a multimedia approach to reaching students might be chosen; in yet another the creator of a simulation or an educational data set might be recognized; and in yet another, the author of a text or monograph that changes the way in which a subject is taught might be tapped. The only limits on what will be recognized are the imagination and creativity of those teaching political science. The recipients of the award will be chosen by a five-person committee, chaired by L. Sandy Maisel, the William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Government and Director of the Goldfarb Center for Public Affairs and Civic Engagement at Colby College. Additional Committee Members will include the APSA Director of Education and Professional Development and three members of the association selected by APSA President Katznelson.

Year of Need: 1st Year Grad, 2nd Year Grad, 3rd Year Grad, Beyond 3rd Year Grad,

Type: Merit Based

Num Awards: 1

Min Award: 500

Max Award: 500

Deadline: 2018-12-31


Sponsoring Organization American Political Science Association (APSA)
1527 New Hampshire Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206

Contact Person:

Phone: Ph: (202) 483-2512

Fax: (202) 483-2657